Suggestions For Selling At Bakuretsu?

Official information about the Alley will be posted here.

Suggestions For Selling At Bakuretsu?

Postby LisaCotton » Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:21 am

Hey guys!

My husband and I attended Bakuretsu back in the early days - the first one in 2001, up until about 2004 or so, when Bakuretsu used to be an anime/gaming con. We hadn't been back since it went completely anime, but we're certain we'd like to give it another shot, and I definitely would like to give it a shot at selling my art there.

I'm primarily a furry artist, so most of my work is furry/funny animals/anthropomorphic animals, but I also dabble with fantasy, medieval illuminations, and a little bit of fan art too. Other than Bakuretsu Con, I've never been to an anime convention before, so I really don't know how well furry is accepted there or not - what are your thoughts on furry art at an anime con? Hit or miss?

I've also been brainstorming about having other things available at my table too - making one-of-a-kind hand-drawn buttons (I have a few right now that are Doctor Who references), and I might have more drawn by that time. I also might offer some amigurumi crocheted things for the fun of it (cuz they're cute! Would this be something people would be interested in buying?), some magnets, bookmarks, etc. Artist Trading Cards one of my favourite things to draw, so I might also offer some of those too.

What other things would you like to see from an artist? I'm afraid the one thing I have problems drawing are people, so while I could make/sell original drawings of fan art of anime characters, I might have a really hard time drawing human-like faces - even cat girls I have a hard time with - the body is no problem, but the faces are the hard part. Then again, it's a year till Bakuretsu 2012 at the time of typing this, so...maybe I'll get somewhat decent by then, LOL!